top of page

2023     'Tres Cantos para armar un Oboe'
               (Three Chants for assembling an Oboe)
               Oboe & string quartet.

10/09/23     José Luis Urquieta & 

Ensamble Fractura

Valparaíso, Chile       

The work comprises three movements, each concentrating on the sounds that can be produced using different parts of the oboe, exploring how those resulting sonorities can be integrated with string sound and how that blend can create contrasting textures from fierce energy to serene lyricism.


The overall arch of the composition is conceived so that the oboist can gradually assemble their instrument piece by piece, therefore, the movements are structured as follows:

I - Body of the instrument (without reed).

II - Reed (alone).

III - Oboe (the entire instrument).

bottom of page